Zach Johnson’s Rules Mishap
Sunday’s final hole at Colonial in Fort Worth, Texas was not without intrigue despite Zach Johnson holding a three-stroke lead on the field.
Johnson’s third stroke from a green-side bunker came to rest on the putting green approximately five feet from the hole. Zach marked his ball and then was asked by his fellow competitor, Jason Dufner, to move his ball marker as it was on Dufner’s line of putt. Zach followed the procedure as prescribed in the Note to Rule 20-1 and placed the ball marker to the side, one clubhead length to the left. After Jason putted, Zach placed his ball directly behind his marker and putted the ball into the hole.
Unfortunately, he did not put the ball marker back to its original location which resulted in Johnson incurring a two stroke penalty under Rule 20-1. Since this was not a serious breach of playing from a wrong place, he was not required to correct the error and the ball was holed. Fortunately for Johnson, the breach was caught and corrected prior to returning his score card and the three-stroke gap over second-place finisher Dufner was trimmed to one. The narrow win by Johnson was his second at Colonial after taking the plaid jacket in 2010.
“There is number of adjectives that I am calling myself right now, and lucky would be the biggest one I can think of.” — Johnson describing the 18th hole goof.
Interested in the Rules of Golf and their application? Browse the NCGA’s “Stump the Rules Expert” archive, maintained by Director of Education Ryan Gregg.