Supporting and promoting golf in Northern California

CGA Senior Championship

23rd CGA State Senior Championship | Poppy Hills GC | November 10-12, 2014

First played in 1992, the CGA State Senior Championship is the state’s premier event for players aged 55 and over. For most of the event’s history, Poppy Hills was the host venue (1994-2009), although the initial contests were held at Ojai Valley Inn and Spa. In 2010 the tournament began a rotation between north and south courses, with north courses hosting in even years and south courses hosting in odd years. Jim McMurtey and Jeff Burda are the only multiple winners of the events both having won three times each: McMurtey (’94, ’95 and ’98); Burda (’08-’10). Burda also holds the record for lowest 54-hole score, posting a 209 (seven-under par) in 2008, which included a final round 65. In 2007 Gary Vanier made history by becoming the only player to win both the CGA Amateur title and CGA Senior title in a career, until Casey Boyns matched the feat in 2012.
The championship also includes a team event during the first two rounds comprising four selected golfers from the NCGA and SCGA. The NCGA leads 12-6 in the series, which began in 1995.



Northern California qualifying sites: TBD

Southern California qualifying sites: TBD

2013 CGA Senior Amateur North Team (Champions): Terry Foreman, Jim Knoll, Brian Morse (captain), Gary Vanier and Casey Boyns.

ENTRY FEE: $85. Players qualifying for the championship proper will pay an additional $200, which includes cart and practice round. Exempt players pay only $200.

ELIGIBILITY: Players must have reached their 55th birthday by November 4, 2013 and have a numeric handicap index of 7.4 or less on their club’s Master Report at the time of registration. Eligible players may attempt to qualify for both the California Amateur and CGA Senior Amateur Championships. ONLY ONE ENTRY FOR THE SAME EVENT MAY BE FILED PER PLAYER, even if the player belongs to clubs in both Northern California and Southern California.

FORMAT: Qualifying – 18 holes. 112 players, including exempts, will advance to the championship proper. Championship – 54 holes of stroke play (18 holes per day). After 36 holes are completed, the field is cut to the low 33 players and ties for the final 18 holes.

EXEMPTIONS: California State Senior Amateur Championship Exemptions. REFUND POLICY: Refund less $10.00 processing fee if requested prior to closing date. 50% refund after the closing date and 48 hours prior to the event. No refunds will be honored within 48 hours of the event.

Tournament Recaps

Jim Knoll completed his journey for a wire-to-wire victory at the 22nd Annual CGA Amateur Championship on Wednesday, but it was no easy task. Coming into the final round with a seven-stroke advantage, the Sunnyvale resident won by a margin of two strokes finishing with a 54-hole score of 212, 1-under-par at San Gabriel CC. After two under-par rounds on Monday and Tuesday with a 70 and 66, the 61-year-old wasn’t quite the same player posting a final round 76. Things looked to be right on track for another under-par round after opening with a birdie on No. 2, but six bogeys over the final 16 holes (Nos. 3, 7, 10, 11, 12 and 15) made Knoll sweat it out a little more than he likely wanted…2013 Recap

For the third straight day, a different name found the top of the 21st Annual CGA Senior Amateur Championship leaderboard at Del Rio GCC. But unlike the previous two days, Wednesday was the day where it mattered most.  In the end, Casey Boyns came back from four shots down to win the title and be crowned the top senior amateur in the state of California…2012 Recap


Past Champions & Team Winners

1992 Chuck Weil at Ojai Valley Inn 71-71– 142 N/A
1993 Paul Ladin at Ojai Valley Inn 73-69 –142 N/A
1994 Jim McMurtrey at Poppy Hills GC 71-75-72 – 218 N/A
1995 Jim McMurtrey at Poppy Hills GC 72-74-73 – 219 NCGA
1996 Paul Spengler at Poppy Hills GC 74-75-75 – 224 NCGA
1997 Cliff Davis at Poppy Hills GC 77-70-71 – 218 NCGA
1998 Jim McMurtrey at Poppy Hills GC 71-74-74 – 219 NCGA
1999 Tom Eastlack at Poppy Hills GC 74-75-71 – 220 SCGA
2000 Mike Riley at Poppy Hills GC 73-76-72 – 221 NCGA
2001 Roly Lamontagne at Poppy Hills 69-75-70 – 214 SCGA
2002 Ted Lyford at Poppy Hills GC 72-67-72 – 211 SCGA
2003 Joe Dudley at Poppy Hills GC 73-72-75 – 220 SCGA
2004 Rob Thompson at Poppy Hills GC 74-73-71 – 218 NCGA
2005 Bob Olds at Poppy Hills GC 73-71-75 – 219 SCGA
2006 Steve Bogan at Poppy Hills GC 75-74-75 – 224 NCGA
2007 Gary Vanier at Poppy Hills GC 73-75-73 – 221 SCGA
2008 Jeff Burda at Poppy Hills GC 74-70-65 – 209 NCGA
2009 Jeff Burda at Poppy Hills GC 66-77-68 – 211 NCGA
2010 Jeff Burda at Ft. Washington CC 68-73-70 – 211 NCGA
2011 Mark Nickeas at Saticoy CC 69-74-78 – 221 NCGA
2012 Casey Boyns at Del Rio CC 75-73-71 – 219 NCGA
2013 Jim Knoll at San Gabriel CC 70-66-76 – 212 NCGA