Supporting and promoting golf in Northern California

NCGA Associate Club Four-Ball Net Championship

24th NCGA Associate Club Four-Ball Net Championship | Poppy Hills/Spyglass Hill GC | June 22-23, 2015


2015 champions Kevin Oliveira and John Greitzer.

First played in 1992, the NCGA Associate Club Four-Ball Net Championship is a two-person better ball event for associate clubs.


ENTRIES CLOSE: May 3, 2015.
QUALIFYING DATE: May 28, 2015.
CHAMPIONSHIP DATES: June 22-23, 2015.
CHAMPIONSHIP SITES: Poppy Hills and Spyglass Hill GC.
ENTRY FEE: $138 per team.  56 qualifying teams pay an additional $380 per team for the championship.

ELIGIBILITY: NCGA Associate Club members ONLY.  Multi-members can only represent one club. No players under 18 years of age.  A numeric handicap index listed on their club’s Master Report not to exceed 36.4 (men) or 40.4 (women) on the date of registration.  NOTE:  SIRS – One two-person team per area is eligible for sectional qualifying.

FORMAT:Four-Ball (Two-Person Better Ball).  Qualifying – 18 holes. Championship – 36 holes, 18 holes per day. Play will be 90% (men) and 95% (women) of the course handicap using a maximum handicap index of 18.4 for calculation.  All players with handicap indexes of 18.5 and above are eligible but must play to a maximum handicap index of 18.4.  If partners’ course handicaps differ by more than 8 strokes, an additional 10 percent reduction will be applied to their course handicaps.  One partner may represent the team for any part or all of a stipulated round for qualifying or the championship proper.

About Spyglass Hill GC

Spyglass Hill No. 14

Ranked number 11 on “America’s 100 Greatest Public Courses” list by Golf Digest for 2011-2012. Spyglass Hill was designed by Robert Trent Jones, Sr., as a part of the master plan for the Pebble Beach ocean front between Cypress Point and Pebble Beach. Opened in 1966, the design features two distinctly different kinds of terrain that influence the way the holes look and play.

The first five holes roll through sandy seaside dunes challenging the golfer to carefully pick the safest path. The following 13 holes are cut through pine trees with elevated greens and strategically placed bunkers and lakes to grab the errant shot. Spyglass Hill is rated one of the toughest courses in the world from the Championship tees, boasting a course rating of 75.5 and a slope rating of 147. The PGA Tour consistently lists Spyglass Hill’s holes 6, 8 and 16 among the toughest on the tour, and during the 1999 United States Amateur, the stroke average of the field during medal play was in excess of 79.

Spyglass Hill Course Tour | Get driving directions

About Poppy Hills

Poppy Hills 1

Poppy Hills No.1

Poppy Hills, which is owned by the NCGA, underwent an extensive renovation beginning in March of 2013 centered around water conservation, primarily by improving irrigation and drainage. Architect Robert Trent Jones II returned with his design firm, this time creating a firm, fast and fun course that unfolds seamlessly through the stunning Del Monte Forest. Jones reinvented the course architecturally, restoring each hole to its natural elevation along the forest floor, softening doglegs and contours, rebuilding all 18 greens with bentgrass, eliminating rough and introducing native waste areas that reduce irrigated turf by nearly 25%.
Course website | Get driving directions


Tournament Results/Recap

2015 Recap

Past Champions

1992 Ralph Franzen and Dick Paradis 62-64-126
1993 Sherm Steever and Matt Wooldridge 64-63-127
1994 Scott DiSalvo and Doug Kyer 60-65-125
1995 George Brown and Tom Rien 62-62-124
1996 Dan Juchau and P.C. Sien 63-58-121
1997 Derek Pehle and Steve Robinson 61-62-123
1998 Bill Hardin and Joe Vuica 58-60-118
1999 Bill Hardin and Vincent Massero 63-59-122
2000 Bill Hardin and Joe Vuica 63-53-116
2001 Ronald Blanchette and John Langston 61-60-121
2002 Dennis Alaburda and Amy Warner 63-60-123
2003 Dennis Merrill and Paul Gin 56-64-120
2004 Elliot Dun and Blair Chikasuye 63-65-128
2005 Emiliano Miranda and Ed Aquino 58-61-119
2006 Gary Figueroa and Mark Stanley 61-61-122
2007 Wayne Depaulo and Marc Gutierres 62-60-122
2008 Willie Atkinson and Chris Lombardo 63-59-122
2009 Wence Galindo and Mark Patterson 64-64-128
2010 Jimmy Moore and Eddy Claessen 62-63-125
2011 Jeff Beach and Myron Smallin 61-67-128
2012 Sterling Fairholm and Goran Kalas 62-62-124
2013 Jay Haro and Erik Nissen 58-64-122
2014 Mark May and Sean McGarry 63-62-125
2015 Kevin Oliveira and John Greitzer 65-62-127