Supporting and promoting golf in Northern California

NCGA Four-Ball Net Championship

47th NCGA Four-Ball Net Championship | Del Monte GC & Spyglass Hill GC | June 23-24, 2014

2013 Champions: Vince Cressio and Greg Jones

First played in 1968, the NCGA Four-Ball Net Championship is a two-person better ball event for regular clubs.

(Two-Person Better Ball)
ELIGIBILITY: NCGA regular member clubs ONLY.  Multi-members can only represent one club. No players under 18 years of age. A numeric handicap index listed on their club’s Master Report not to exceed 36.4 (men) or 40.4 (women) on the date of registration.
FORMAT: Four-Ball (Two-Person Better Ball).  QUALIFYING: 18 holes.

ENTRIES CLOSE: April 25, 2014.
QUALIFYING DATE: May 22, 2014.
CHAMPIONSHIP DATES: June 23-24, 2014.
CHAMPIONSHIP SITE:  Quail Lodge GC and Spyglass Hill GC.  ENTRIES: One to three teams based on club membership.
ENTRY FEE: $134 per team.  56 qualifying teams pay an additional $380 per team for the championship.

Championship: 36 holes, 18 holes per day.  Play will be 90% (men) and 95% (women) of the course handicap using a maximum handicap index of 18.4 for calculation.  All players with handicap indexes of 18.5 and above are eligible but must play to a maximum handicap index of 18.4.  If partners’ course handicaps differ by more than 8 strokes, an additional 10 percent reduction will be applied to their course handicaps.  One partner may represent the team for any part or all of a stipulated round for qualifying or the championship proper.

About Spyglass Hill GC

Spyglass Hill No. 14

Ranked number 11 on “America’s 100 Greatest Public Courses” list by Golf Digest for 2011-2012. Spyglass Hill was designed by Robert Trent Jones, Sr., as a part of the master plan for the Pebble Beach ocean front between Cypress Point and Pebble Beach. Opened in 1966, the design features two distinctly different kinds of terrain that influence the way the holes look and play.

The first five holes roll through sandy seaside dunes challenging the golfer to carefully pick the safest path. The following 13 holes are cut through pine trees with elevated greens and strategically placed bunkers and lakes to grab the errant shot. Spyglass Hill is rated one of the toughest courses in the world from the Championship tees, boasting a course rating of 75.5 and a slope rating of 147. The PGA Tour consistently lists Spyglass Hill’s holes 6, 8 and 16 among the toughest on the tour, and during the 1999 United States Amateur, the stroke average of the field during medal play was in excess of 79.

Spyglass Hill Course Tour | Get driving directions

About Quail Lodge GC

Quail Lodge No. 17

Designed by Robert Muir Graves, the Quail Lodge Golf Club course provides 6,500 yards of challenging play for golfers of all skill levels. This walk-able par-71 course features 10 lakes, the scenic Carmel River, and sunny skies nearly year-round.
Course website | Get driving directions

Past Champions

1968 A: Jack Turturici and Bob Church 67-64-131
B: James Purcell and Ted Collins 65-69-134
C: Manuel Esquerra and Matthew Miholovich 69-65-134
1969 A: Jack Wallace and Jack Foss 63-69-132
B: Richard Adams and E. Grady 69-65-134
C: Earl Russell and Larry Headrick 63-70-133
1970 A: Nick LaSorella and Robert Palmer 64-66-130
B: Wendell Norwood and Virgil Norwood 60-66-126
1971 A: Guy Robinson and H.J. Haralson 65-66-131
B: Elwood Frink and Terry Jarcik 65-64-129
1972 A: Henry Hinds and Dave Allen 63-68-131
B: Gordon Travis and Bob Travis 65-62-127
1973 A: Don Silva and Dick Meffley 67-62-129
B: Phil Mastagni and Manuel Fagundes 64-62-126
1974 A: Richard Brown and Harold Beaume 61-64-125
B: Elwood Frink and Terry jarcik 65-63-128
1975 A: Harold Beaume and Richard Brown 65-63-128
B: Vic Pedone and Larry Sylvestri 61-64-125
1976 Jon Aarstad and Mike Leitner 63-65-128
1977 Ed McDonald and Ron Olsen 65-64-129
1978 A: Don Skinner and Dade Skinner 65-65-130
B: Jon Akin and Fred McCollum 60-63-123
1979 Phil Mastagni and Manny Fagundes 64-67-131
1980 Dick Smolinski and Jack McGaughey 67-61-128
1981 Harold Houx and Richard Gregson 66-61-127
1982 Esque Martin and Melvin Shivers 67-63-130
1983 Naaman Pridmore and Bruce Pridemore 66-70-136
1984 Dick Ringer and Jim Thompson 69-64-133
1985 Steve Bissett and Michael Mueller 65-62-127
1986 Chuck Olivis and Steve Sillman 69-65-134
1987 Don Meyers and Larry Meyers 63-68-131
1988 Paul Springer and Craig Givan 66-66-132
1989 William Burge and Richard Dent 63-68-131
1990 Terry Aluisi and Rick Telegan 58-65-123
1991 Ami Chand and Hirdesh Lal 58-64-122
1992 Larry Andreatta and Don Martin 60-60-120
1993 Dave Browning and Lavin Justice 64-65-129
1994 Craig Givan and Paul Springer 67-57-124
1995 Gerald O’Brien and Frank Simas 65-65-130
1996 Clayton Beckwith and Kenneth Marks 60-59-119
1997 James DeLavergne and Craig Houghton 63-57-120
1998 Clarence Castro and John Elder 62-57-119
1999 Lanny Ballew and Butch Presley 64-63-127
2000 George Vines and Howard Carrigan 57-65-112
2001 George Vines and Howard Carrigan 62-61-123
2002 Robert Ramos and Richard Ramos 59-59-118
2003 Tim Finnegan and Gary Costello 63-62-125
2004 Rick Frazier and Larrell Fortner 62-62-124
2005 Richard and Robert Ramos 65-59-124
2006 Dennis Shaffer and Bruce Sitton 60-63-123
2007 Bud Sanchez and Bob Roak 63-63-126
2008 Roger Carson and Pat Goodman 61-63-124
2009 Glen Gallegos and David Cripps 67-59-126
2010 John Barss and Mike Barss 61-58-119
2011 Dave Langston and Byron McCulloch 61-61-122
2012 Mark Hoerner and Kris Kamerzell 63-63-126
2013 Vince Cressio and Greg Jones 62-65-127