Supporting and promoting golf in Northern California

NCGA Master Division Championship

33rd NCGA Master Division Championship  | Spyglass Hill GC & Del Monte GC  |  June 9-10, 2014



2014 champion Rick Reinsberg.

The NCGA Master Division Championship began in 1982 as a competitive opportunity for players aged 40-54 who were not yet eligible for senior tournaments. The event is open to all players aged 40 and over, with no upper age restriction.

The 36-hole stroke play championship was held for 11 consecutive years at Lake Tahoe and Edgewood Tahoe golf courses and is now hosted jointly by Spyglass Hill and Poppy Hills golf courses.

Pat McDonald holds the tournament’s 36-hole scoring record with a seven-under-par 136 in 1994 at Lake Tahoe and Edgewood Tahoe GCs.  The single round record of six-under-par 66 set in 1998 by Pat McDonald was tied in 1999 by four-time champion Randy Haag, who posted a 65 at the par-71 Lake Tahoe GC.  Haag holds the record for most titles, having won four in a 14-year span 1999, 2002, 2009 and 2013. The only player to win back-to-back titles is Jeff Burda, who claimed the championship three times, in 1996, 1997 and 2005. Jim Knoll became the oldest player to win the championship at 59, in 2012.

The champagne bucket trophy was donated by two-time California State Amateur champion Ernie Pieper.


Qualifying Information

ENTRIES CLOSE: April 18, 2014

Qualifying for the 2014 Master Division Championship takes place May 15 at the following courses:

Darkhorse GC | Hiddenbrooke GC | Riverbend GC | Roddy Ranch GC | San Juan Oaks GC

Format: 18 holes qualifying. 100 players plus ties (including exempts) will advance to the championship.

All players must qualify except the following: All past champions prior to 2004 (beginning in 2004, this is a 10-year exemption) and the top 10 and ties from the preceding year.  The following current NCGA champions are exempt if they meet age elegibility requirements: Public Links, Valley Amateur, Amateur Stroke Play, Senior, CGA Senior and Amateur Match Play.  Each exempt player is required to submit an entry prior to the closing date.  Master Division Exemptions

About Spyglass Hill GC

Spyglass Hill No. 14

Ranked number 11 on “America’s 100 Greatest Public Courses” list by Golf Digest for 2011-2012. Spyglass Hill was designed by Robert Trent Jones, Sr., as a part of the master plan for the Pebble Beach ocean front between Cypress Point and Pebble Beach. Opened in 1966, the design features two distinctly different kinds of terrain that influence the way the holes look and play.
The first five holes roll through sandy seaside dunes challenging the golfer to carefully pick the safest path. The following 13 holes are cut through pine trees with elevated greens and strategically placed bunkers and lakes to grab the errant shot.
Spyglass Hill is rated one of the toughest courses in the world from the Championship tees, boasting a course rating of 75.5 and a slope rating of 147. The PGA Tour consistently lists Spyglass Hill’s holes 6, 8 and 16 among the toughest on the tour, and during the 1999 United States Amateur, the stroke average of the field during medal play was in excess of 79.
Spyglass Hill Course Tour | Get driving directions

About Del Monte GC

Del Monte GC No. 9

Revered as the oldest course in continuous operation west of the Mississippi, Del Monte GC provides a parkland style golf course minutes away from the Pacific Ocean. Having been open for play since 1897, the course was designed by Charles Maud a golf and polo enthusiast. The layout provides many tree-lined fairways and plays 6,365 yards with a course rating of 71.5 from the championship tees. Del Monte was the original host of the California State Amateur Championship and is also a regular host—along with Pebble Beach GL—of the Callaway Golf Pebble Beach Invitational and the Champions Tour First Tee Open.
Del Monte Course Tour | Get driving directions

Tournament Recaps

Moraga resident Rick Reinsberg made the most out of what is now a rare tournament appearance.The 42-year-old, who plays out of ReinsbergMoraga Country Club, sank a six foot birdie putt on the 18th hole at par-72 Del Monte Golf Course Tuesday to shoot 71 and win the annual NCGA Master Division Championship by one over Brookside Men’s Golf Club member Dan Sullivan. For Reinsberg, it’s his first Master Division crown and first NCGA title since the 2009 Stroke Play Amateur Championship. The championship also marked Reinsberg’s final event of the season. Read Full 2014 Recap | View 2014 Photo Gallery


Randy Haag added his name to NCGA history on Tuesday, not that his name can’t be found in it already. The six-time NCGA Player of the Year—a record by itself—became the first player ever to win a fourth NCGA Master Division title by posting a 36-hole score of 144, even-par. With a fourth NCGA Master Division title to his name and his first NCGA major win since the 2011 Master Division Four-Ball title, Haag was happy to get out of his mini-slump. He also wasn’t any less excited winning an event he’s already won three other times (’99, ’02 and ’09)… Read Full 2013 Recap | View 2013 Photo Gallery


For the past 20 years the NCGA Master Division Championship has eluded Jim Knoll’s grasp. Having finished runner-up four times in the event, Knoll finally broke through and captured his first win firing a 36-hole total of 141, three-under-par. His total was good enough to take a four-shot victory over the nearest competition as Nick Ushijima and Gary Vanier tied for second at one-over-par, 145. Interestingly enough Knoll’s window of opportunity passed him at one point as the event only accommodated players ages 40 to 54, before the rule was changed after the 2008 tournament season, making him ineligible in 2007 and 2008….Read Full 2012 Recap | View 2012 Photo Gallery

Past Champions

1982 Gary Vandeweghe at Spyglass Hill GC 74-77-151
1983 John Brodie at Sharon Heights GCC 70-74-144
1984 Gary Conti at Sharon Heights GCC 77-72-149
1985 Dean Prince at Pasatiempo GC 73-73-146
1986 Marshall Gleason at Green Hills CC 74-76-150
1987 Bill Paulson at Lake Tahoe GC 70-76-146
1988 Bob Foster at The Meadow Club 75-69-144
1989 Cliff Davis at Butte Creek CC 71-76-147
1990 Tom Culligan at Lake Tahoe GC and Edgewood Tahoe 73-74-147
1991 Pat McDonald at Lake Tahoe GC and Edgewood Tahoe 70-71-141
1992 Bob Blomberg at Lake Tahoe GC and Edgewood Tahoe 75-70-145
1993 Lucio Alvarez at Lake Tahoe GC and Edgewood Tahoe 74-68-142
1994 Pat McDonald at Lake Tahoe GC and Edgewood Tahoe 70-66-136
1995 Dennis Younglove at Lake Tahoe GC and Edgewood Tahoe 73-70-143
1996 Jeff Burda at Lake Tahoe GC and Edgewood Tahoe 69-72-141
1997 Jeff Burda at Lake Tahoe GC and Edgewood Tahoe 71-70-141
1998 Gary Vanier at Lake Tahoe GC and Edgewood Tahoe 69-69-138
1999 Randy Haag at Lake Tahoe GC and Edgewood Tahoe 65-73-138
2000 Dan Bieber at Lake Tahoe GC and Edgewood Tahoe 74-69-143
2001 Dan Condie at Lake Tahoe GC 74-69-143
2002 Randy Haag at Winchester CC 71-70-141
2003 James Hay at Resort at Squaw Creek 73-70-143
2004 Mark Gardner at Resort at Squaw Creek 74-70-144
2005 Jeff Burda at Spyglass Hill GC 68-74-142
2006 Bob Niger at Spyglass Hill GC 72-73-145
2007 Casey Boyns at Spyglass Hill GC 74-72-146
2008 Jamie Looper at Spyglass Hill GC 74-72-146
2009 Randy Haag at Spyglass Hill GC 74-70-144
2010 Daniel Sullivan at Spyglass Hill/Poppy Hills 73-67-140
2011 Darin Lake at Poppy Hills/Spyglass Hill 74-73-147
2012 Jim Knoll at Spyglass Hill/Poppy Hills 70-71-141
2013 Randy Haag at Bayonet/Spyglass Hill 72-72-144
2014 Rick Reinsberg at Spyglass Hill/Del Monte 67-71-138