Supporting and promoting golf in Northern California

NCGA Parent-Child Championship

17th NCGA Parent-Child Championship | Poppy Ridge GC | July 19-20, 2014

2013 Parent-Child Champions (top to bottom): Dave and Jason Marks (President Flight); Dalvinder and Baldeep Sanghera (Director Flight); Walt amd Travis Chrupalo (Secretary Flight).

First played in 1998, the NCGA Parent-Child Championship is two-person, alternate-shot handicap event for NCGA parents and their children.

FORMAT: Foursome (alternate shot) Net Stroke Play.  36 holes – 18 holes per day.  Entries will be put into three flights by team handicap.  Team handicap is 50% of partners’ combined course handicaps.ENTRIES CLOSE: June 27, 2014.  CHAMPIONSHIP DATES: July 19-20, 2014.  CHAMPIONSHIP SITE: Poppy Ridge GC. ENTRY FEE: $260 per team, which includes a pairings party.  Field limited to first 78 eligible teams entered.

ELIGIBILITY: Both team members must be members of the NCGA and have a numeric handicap index not to exceed 36.4 (men) or 40.4 (women) listed on their club’s Master Report on date of registration.  Relationship with the child must be natural, adopted or stepchild.  Partners may have more than one generation between them (i.e. a grandfather may play with his grandson).  Partners don’t need to be members of the same club.

About Poppy Ridge


Poppy Ridge (Chardonnay) No. 3

Located in the heart of the Livermore Valley Wine Country, the 27-hole Rees Jones design is reminiscent of the heathland courses of Scotland. Poppy Ridge Golf Course opened in 1996 and is easily accessible to approximately 90,000 of the nearly 175,000 NCGA members who live within a 65-mile radius of the course.

The Merlot, Chardonnay and Zinfandel nines offer challenging and enjoyable golf for any level of player. Each nine measures about 3,500 to 3,600 yards from the black tees. Carved in the rugged terrain of the Livermore foot-hills, Poppy Ridge offers spectacular views of the golf course and beyond. Each hole is shaped by extensive bunkering, giving the course a true links feel.

Poppy Ridge was rated by Zagat Guide as one of the top 15 courses in the nation for value. Remarkable views of rolling hills, four sets of tees, excellent course conditions, 27 championship golf holes, friendly staff, indoor and outdoor restaurant facilities and affordable prices make this a true value in Northern California.

Course Tour | Directions


Tournament Results/Recap

2013 Results/Recap
2012 Results/Recap

Past Champions

1998 Net: Leo and Devin Corpuz 72-59-131
1999 Gross: Alex and Scott Merkner 82-74-156
1999 Net: Dale and Steve Phillips 65-67-132
2000 Gross: Jim and Miles Lopes 77-74-151
2000 Net: Bill and Kathryn Murphy 68-63-131
2001 Gross: Mitch and Josh Harrison 73-72-145
2001 Net: Greg Tolson and Greg Tolson II 62-67-129
2002 Gross: Mitch and Josh Harrison 74-74-148
2002 Gross: Mitch and Josh Harrison 74-74-148
2003 Gross: Dan and Jack Bieber 71-74-145
2003 Net: Bruce and Patrick Boal 63-72-135
2004 Net: Long and Andrew Nguyen 62-62-124
2004 Gross: Bill and Trevor Carle 67-64-131
2005 President: David and Greg Leuterio 68-69-137
2005 Director: Chon Gallegos and Spencer Charlton 67-66-133
2005 Secretary: Erik Galindo and Wence Galindo 62-63-125
2006 President: Mitch and Wayne Card 68-70-138
2006 Director: Brian Knoll and Alan Swank 67-68-135
2006 Secretary: Erik Galindo and Wence Galindo 69-58-127
2007 President: Mitch and Wayne Card 68-70-138
2007 Director: Brian Knoll and Alan Swank 67-68-135
2007 Secretary: Erik Galindo and Wence Galindo 69-58-127
2008 President: Jack and Jeff Wilson 66-71-137
2008 Director: Kelli and Taylor Knoll 65-72-137
2008 Secretary: Devyn Fitchorn and Scott Watson 63-66-129
2009 President: Kyle and Steve John 69-75-144
2009 Director: Christopher and Henry Mata 67-71-138
2009 Secretary: Sandra Hinzmann and Charles Huff 68-64-132
2010 President: Sung and Ryan Han 66-69-135
2010 Director: Daniel and Martin Connolly 68-63-131
2010 Secretary: Guy and Izumi Tada 62-64-126
2011 President: Mitch and Wayne Card 69-70-139
2011 Director: Steve and Nick DeRosa 68-65-133
2011 Secretary: Michael and De Tan 65-68-133
2012 President: Jason and David Marks 70-68-138
2012 Director: Dan and Tim Lakoski 70-67-137
2012 Secretary: Kate and Dave Swanson 59-69-128
2013 President: Jason and David Marks 72-66-138
2013 Director: Dalvinder and Baldeep Sanghera 71-61-132
2013 Secretary: Walt and Travis Chrupalo 68-67-135