Supporting and promoting golf in Northern California

NCGA Senior Four-Ball Championship

16th NCGA Senior Four-Ball Championship | Greenhorn Creek/Saddle Creek | May 21-23, 2014

2013 Champions: Mark Miller and Gary Vanier

First played in 1999, the NCGA Senior Four-Ball Championship is a two-person, better-ball scratch event for senior golfers. The tournament expanded from two rounds to three rounds in 2006. Joe Dudley and Bob Pipkin won the inaugural event, while the team of Robert Berg and Rob Thompson have the most titles, three, winning in 2005, 2007 and 2008. Mark Miller has won the event three different times with three different partners: Herb Jensen (2006), Casey Boyns (2012) and Gary Vanier (2013).

The event has been held at Poppy Hills GC every year up until 2013 when it was moved to Silverado Resort in Napa, while Poppy Hills GC was under renovation. Miller and Jensen hold the record for lowest 54-hole score, 196, set in 2006. David Ujihara and Mel Collins hold the lowest score after 36 holes at Poppy Hills with a 129, set in 2012. Miller and Vanier broke that mark with a 36-hole score of 128 at Silverado Resort in 2013. Ujihara and Collins (2012), and Miller and Vanier (2013) also share a record for lowest 18-hole score, 63, with 2001 winners Cliff Davis and Robert Olds, and Miller and Jensen in 2006.

ENTRIES CLOSE: April 25, 2014 ENTRY FEE: $350 per team. Field limited to the first 84 teams, including exempt teams.

ELIGIBILITY: Players must have reached their 55th birthday by May 22, 2013 and have a numeric handicap index on their club’s Master Report of 9.4 or less on the date of registration. Partners need not be members of the same club. One partner may represent the team for any part or all of a stipulated round.

EXEMPTIONS: Champion teams prior to 2004 have a lifetime exemption. Champion teams from 2004 and beyond are exempt for five years. Top 10 teams and ties from the preceding year. All exempt teams must consist of the same partners.  Senior Four-Ball Exemptions

FORMAT: 54 holes four-ball stroke play (18 holes per day) over three days. After 36 holes the field will be cut to the low 30 teams and ties.


Tournament Recaps

After nine holes of the final round of the NCGA Senior Four-Ball Championship at Silverado Resort, Gary Vanier and Mark Miller’s four-stroke lead had vanished. What looked to be a mere formality going into the final round to get their names etched in tournament history turned out to be a lot harder than anticipated as Gary Ramsden and Dennis Younglove fired a 31 on the front-nine par 35 of Silverado’s South Course, while Vanier and Miller shot a one-over par 36. Still, Vanier and Miller got going on back-nine, while Ramsden and Younglove cooled off, giving Vanier and Miller a two-shot victory. Their final round 71, one-under par was good enough to total 199, 17-under par… Read Full 2013 Recap | View 2013 Photo Gallery

Casey Boyns and Mark Miller didn’t post the number they were looking for on Friday, but as it turned out it was still enough to come from behind and win the 14th Annual NCGA Senior Four-Ball Championship. Having started the day five shots off the lead and in a tie for second place, Boyns and Miller thought they would need to post a 64 to have a chance to win. Well, they came awfully close, shooting a 7-under 65 instead, yet won rather easily taking a three-shot margin of victory after posting a 54-hole total of 199, 17-under par… Read Full 2012 Recap | View 2012 Photo Gallery

Past Champions

1999 Joe Dudley and Bob Pipkin 65-68-133
2000 Jim McMurtrey and William Celli 65-68-133
2001 Cliff Davis and Robert Olds 63-68-131
2002 Carl Selkirk and Dave Parsons 65-67-132
2003 Lou Alvarez and Richard Michel 68-66-134
2004 Mike Butler and Earl Stewart 68-67-135
2005 Robert Berg and Rob Thompson 66-70-136
2006 Mark Miller and Herb Jensen 67-63-66-196
2007 Robert Berg and Rob Thompson 65-68-66-199
2008 Robert Berg and Rob Thompson 71-67-67-205
2009 Doug Johnson and Rob Adolph 66-69-69-204
2010 Peter Moren and Ron Johnson 65-70-66-201
2011 Jim Knoll and Jeff Burda 68-66-67-201
2012 Casey Boyns and Mark Miller 67-67-65-199
2013 Gary Vanier and Mark Miller at Silverado Resort 63-65-71-199