Supporting and promoting golf in Northern California

NCGA Zone Championship


48th NCGA Zone Championship | Poppy Hills GC & Spyglass Hill GC | August 25-26, 2014


2014 Zone Championship winners Tulare GC.

First played in 1967, the NCGA Zone Championship is a four-person team event for regular clubs. Fourteen regional championships are staged with the champion and runner-up qualifying for the final championship at the end of August.


Regional Sites: Carmel Valley Ranch GC & Del Monte GC.
Regional Zone qualifying will play one round at Carmel Valley Ranch GC and one round at Del Monte GC.
The top two teams from each regional zone will return August 25-26, 2014 for the championship at Spyglass Hill GC & Poppy Hills GC.

: NCGA regular member clubs only (one team). Multi-members can only represent one club. No players under 18 years of age. A numeric handicap index listed on their club’s Master Report on the date of registration not to exceed 36.4 (men) or 40.4 (women).

FORMAT: Best two balls of four. Play will be 90% (men) and 95% (women) of the course handicap using a maximum handicap index of 18.4 for calculation. All players with handicap indexes of 18.5 or above are eligible but must play to a maximum current handicap index of 18.4.

Club Official Online Registration

About Spyglass Hill GC

Spyglass Hill No. 14

Ranked number 11 on “America’s 100 Greatest Public Courses” list by Golf Digest for 2011-2012. Spyglass Hill was designed by Robert Trent Jones, Sr., as a part of the master plan for the Pebble Beach ocean front between Cypress Point and Pebble Beach. Opened in 1966, the design features two distinctly different kinds of terrain that influence the way the holes look and play.

The first five holes roll through sandy seaside dunes challenging the golfer to carefully pick the safest path. The following 13 holes are cut through pine trees with elevated greens and strategically placed bunkers and lakes to grab the errant shot. Spyglass Hill is rated one of the toughest courses in the world from the Championship tees, boasting a course rating of 75.5 and a slope rating of 147. The PGA Tour consistently lists Spyglass Hill’s holes 6, 8 and 16 among the toughest on the tour, and during the 1999 United States Amateur, the stroke average of the field during medal play was in excess of 79.

Spyglass Hill Course Tour | Get driving directions


About Del Monte GC

Del Monte GC No. 9

Revered as the oldest course in continuous operation west of the Mississippi, Del Monte GC provides a parkland style golf course minutes away from the Pacific Ocean. Having been open for play since 1897, the course was designed by Charles Maud a golf and polo enthusiast. The layout provides many tree-lined fairways and plays 6,365 yards with a course rating of 71.5 from the championship tees. Del Monte was the original host of the California State Amateur Championship and is also a regular host—along with Pebble Beach GL—of the Callaway Golf Pebble Beach Invitational and the Champions Tour First Tee Open.

Del Monte Course Tour | Get driving directions

Tournament Recaps

Zone90Tulare Golf Course’s journey ended at the summit. Tulare Golf Course shot 19-under 125, its second straight score of 19-under, to capture the 48th annual NCGA Zone Championship title Tuesday at par-72 Spyglass Hill. Tulare GC finished the two-day, 36-hole event with a total score of 38-under 248. Read Full 2014 Recap

The team with the low score on Tuesday came out on top at the 47thAnnual NCGA Zone Championship, despite not having the low first round score. The four-man team of Dennis Culberston, Richard Deponte, Tim Speer and Chris Wells from Del Rio GCC mounted a mini-comeback having started the day alone in fourth place to be crowned 2013 NCGA Zone Champions. In a format that takes the two best net scores per hole of a four-man team, the Del Rio GCC team followed its first round of 125 at Spyglass Hill GC with an impressive final round score of 119 at Del Monte GC to finish with a 244, 44-under-par 36-hole total. Read Full 2013 Recap

Mike Haworth, David Spinks, Steve Beaton and Craig Burkett from Churn Creek GC had a goal going through qualifications for the 46th Annual NCGA Zone Championship – to make it to Spyglass Hill GC. After playing together in 2011 for zone qualifying, the four-man team finished fifth in the North Zone, missing their opportunity to compete in the championship field. In 2012 qualifying, the men from Redding went wire-to-wire to earn a trip to the Monterey Peninsula. Read Full 2012 Recap


Past Champions

1967 North Ridge CC 61-60-121
1968 Palo Alto Hills GCC 61-69-120
1969 *Del Rio GCC 60-56-116
1970 Palo Alto Hills GCC 61-60-121
1971 *Whitney Ranch National GC 60-56-116
1972 Sunnyvale GC 62-61-123
1973 Butte Creek CC 61-62-122
1974 California GC 59-60-119
1975 Palm Lakes GC 57-62-119
1976 Selma Valley GC 60-64-124
1977 Kings CC 59-63-122
1978 Sunset Whitney GC 61-63-124
1979 Belmont CC 62-57-119
1980 Sequoyah CC 61-59-120
1981 Rancho Del Rey GC 61-64-125
1982 Peninsula GCC 59-62-121
1983 Gold Hills GC 61-64-125
1984 Cobb Meadows GC 60-58-118
1985 Vineyard Knolls GC 66-58-124
1986 Tularcitos GCC 58-64-123
1987 Fort Washington GCC 63-61-124
1988 Corral de Tierra CC 62-57-119
1989 Boulder Creek GC 60-61-121
1990 Swenson Park GC 57-57-114
1991 Bing Maloney GC 61-59-120
1992 Riverside GC 59-59-118
1993 Churn Creek GC 124-121-245
1994 Sacramento GC 120-118-238
1995 Creekside GC 119-117-236
1996 Valley Oaks GC 114-118-232
1997 Cherry Island GC 118-120-238
1998 Lemoore GC 122-121-243
1999 Bayonet/Black Horse 128-126-254
2000 Sierra View of Visalia 124-122-246
2001 Brentwood GC 120-117-237
2002 Champions GC 123-117-240
2003 Kings CC 124-121-245
2004 Summitpointe CC 125-124-249
2005 Redwood Empire GCC 124-124-248
2006 Oakdale GCC 122-118-240
2007 Shelter Cove 123-119-242
2008 Plumas Lake GCC 123-123-246
2009 Monterey Peninsula CC 130-124-254
2010 Plumas Lake GCC 119-138-257
2011 Benbow GC 130-117-247
2012 Churn Creek GC 124-120-244
2013 Del Rio GCC 125-119-244
2014 Tulare GC 123-125-248